Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Do you enjoy poison?

If so- you need to check out the Flavia De Luce series, post haste! Flavia De Luce is an eleven year old girl with a penchant for poison and a passion for chemistry. Her story is set in jolly old England (not so jolly in this story!) in the summer of 1950. Flavia has to deal with two older sisters, a father whom is a philatelist (a stamp collector) and a murder mystery.
I read the first book in the series, The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, when it first came out in 2009. I am really mesmerized by the precocious Flavia. Admittedly this series may not be for all tastes, but I happen to really enjoy it. As of this writing there are 10 books in the series, one of them being a short story made for Kindles only. The list is as follows:

  • The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie. Alan Bradley. …
  • The Weed That Strings the Hangman’s Bag. Alan Bradley. …
  • A Red Herring Without Mustard. Alan Bradley. …
  • #4. I Am Half-Sick of Shadows. …
  • #5. Speaking from Among the Bones. …
  • #6. The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches. …
  • #7. As Chimney Sweepers Come to Dust. …
  • #8. Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew’d.
  • #9. A Grave’s a Fine and Private Place.

The Kindle book is The Curious Case of the Copper Corpse.
Posted by, Estel

Contact Us

333 Mill Street
Orland, CA 95963

Library Hours

MON, WED & FRI: 11 am–6 pm
TUE & THU: 11 am–7 pm
SAT: 11 am–3 pm
SUN: Closed

Newsletter Coming Soon

Copyright © 2023, Orland Free Library. All rights reserved.  Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Proudly created in Orland, CA by Rose Duncan Design